Dancing Naked on the table.

Shalom, y’all.
Years ago I answered the phone.
On the other end of the line was the uncommonly weak and small voice of my best friend.
Her opening remark to me was, “I just said something that I never thought I would have to say to one of my children.”
I ran about ten scenarios in my head in the millisecond it took me to respond with, “What’s wrong?”.
She said, “I came in from another room and he (name withheld to protect a man in his mid twenties that the boy has become) was there buck naked, dancing on the top of the dining room table. I couldn’t think of anything else to say except, ‘Stop dancing naked on the table'”.
Mirth and concern for my dear friend’s psyche were bubbling over at almost the exact proportions at that second.
I comforted her with the obvious, “You will probably never have to say that again.”
I know this is a cute story and it is true, but one of the reasons I shared it today was to ask this question: Do you have a similar story about finding yourself in a situation where you said something that didn’t even sound like you? Please share it here if you can.
Oh, yes, the second reason I told the story is so we could all laugh.
Follow up question. When was the last time you laughed so hard it hurt?

Shalom,
Linda Lee

Leave a Reply

